Race for the light

In my last post, Colours, I noted the mornings were getting darker, giving the chance to watch some spectacular sunrises. Now it seems the evenings are catching up with this show.

I went out on my mountain bike tonight – planning to do my usual three mile circuit, following one of the waymarked paths through Anagach towards Cromdale.

I faffed about a bit before going out, just messing around on my phone. But as I peddled along the tracks, I realised the light was fading fast. And when you deep in pine forest, the trees seem to block the horizon, leaving you with just glimpses of light as you race along.

Not having my lights with me, I cut my route via a handy shortcut leading to the Speyside Way – a lesson to put down my mobile and just get outside.

Though of course, even tomorrow night, the light will be fading quicker than today. At some point, I might even be forced to the gym for some exercise.

 

Leave a Reply

